Book Review: Trials Of Apollo The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Trials of Apollo The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

review by Ruth Becker

I recently finished the book Trials Of Apollo The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. The book is about the sun god Apollo, who made Zeus angry, and his punishment was that he had to be turned into a mortal and placed in the mortal world, acne and all.  When he lands, he meets trouble, along with an ally. Apollo finds a demigod living in the alleyway he landed in. Her name is Meg, and once she finds out he’s supposed to be a god, she immediately claims him. Claiming him means he now has to act as her servant.

He takes Meg to Camp Half Blood, a safe place for demigods, and notices some strange things. First of all, the campers are not welcoming him with joy and praise, which Apollo finds very wrong, but the Oracle Of Delphi has gone silent, and campers are wandering into the woods, and not coming back. Apollo overhears someone called The Beast talking, and hears hints to his master plan that could destroy Camp Halfblood. He must find out what is going on before madness occurs.

I’m a huge fan of Rick Riordan books, so when I heard that there was a new book I hadn’t read yet, I had to start reading it. When I was reading the book, it had so much power and feeling inside of the words, that I couldn’t put it down. I really liked how Riordan made it first person from Apollo’s point of view. I feel like you can see inside of Apollo’s head and know every little thing about him when I read it. For instance, in mortal form on the outside, Apollo may look like a small weak sixteen year old. Though on the inside, he’s still the arrogant, self conscious, somewhat brave fool that he always was. I think that Rick Riordan has a certain charm in his writing that really draws people into his stories.

I think that this book is mainly for ten to thirteen year olds, but honestly, I think anyone could get lost in this story. If you have read the Percy Jackson series, The Red Pyramid series or books by Brandon Mull, or more books by Rick Riordan, you may enjoy this book. You may also like it if you enjoy action, laughter, and giant bronze statues. ( Ok, you don’t have to like the last one, but it’s pretty cool in the book.)  I liked this book very much, and I hope there’s more to read soon.


Ruth Becker is a fifth grade student at Delta Middle in State College, PA.  

Book Review: Trials Of Apollo The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

