Friday Five: Reasons to Read Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle

Friday Five: Reasons to Read Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle

  1. Students will love these books and want to talk to you about them. One of my seniors gave me the first book, The Raven Boys and I’ve emailed and chatted with her and others about the book.
  2. Stiefvater can genuinely surprise me. It is rare for a book to surprise me anymore. I know the clues for suspense, I can pick out Chekov’s gun a mile away. But her books legitimately surprised me in some parts. Don’t worry, no spoilers, just take my word for it.
  3. They are an easy sell. Modern book about teenagers researching the paranormal? Sure, they’ll read it. Crafted, precise writing with original metaphor? They’ll read it. Realistic portrayals of teenagers and the way they actually speak? They’ll read it.
  4. The series is complete. One of my students  who is a fan of series said she was willing to start The Raven Cycle series because it was complete–she wouldn’t have to wait for another one to come out once she finished the last book. And I admit, I have been reading one after the other. While I was sad I came late to the series, the good news is no wait for the last book.
  5. Escape into a good story. I started the first book after a tough week at school. It was a Saturday where I didn’t have grading to do and I thought I’d tackle my to-read shelf. Hours went by and I sunk into another world. There’s nothing like a book that can transport you, and these will do just that.

Posted by Kate, Blog Editor and Book Reviewer for PCTELAimgres

Friday Five: Reasons to Read Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle

Leave a Reply

