Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

When a former student (and author) gives me a new book and tells me I have to read it, I listen.  This book was an absolute joy–pure escapism and excellent writing.  Six of Crows follows Kaz Brekker, the young leader of the Crow Club and a talented young crew as they attempt to break in to the Ice Court and rescue their target.

What a caper! The entire time, there’s action and more action. I loved all the six characters, but I was, perhaps, most enamored with Inej, who’s deadly with a knife and can silently sneak up on any of her enemies. Of course, the love-hate relationships with Nina and Matthias also intrigued me, and when we finally had the story of the escape that brought them together, I was fascinated. And really, how could I not love Jesper and Wylan (who I was shipping for most of the book). Wylan is young and inexperienced, and Jesper found all kinds of ways to pick on him initially, but eventually support and appreciate him.

The heist’s goal involves finding the inventor of jurda parem, a drug that enhances the powers of the Grisha (who can heal, conjure storms, rearrange metal) but also turns them into immediate addicts for the drug.

Not only does this tell a great story with strong characters, but the worldbuilding is just breathtaking.  Bardugo has created a world so believable and so real, I want to book a vacation to Ketterdam (at least the less-seedy parts). I’m compelled to now read the sequel to Six of CrowsThe Crooked Kingdom and also to read the Grisha trilogy, which I imagine features the Grisha in more detail. sixofcrows

Posted by Kate, Blog Editor for PCTELA

Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

