Up Late with Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

Up Late with Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

I enjoy reading female comedian biographies. For example: Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl ; Tina Fey’s Bossypants; Amy Poehler’s Yes Please; and Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me?  But Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo was my favorite of ALL of those books.  Probably because I have the most in common with her–we’re close in age, and we’re both introverts. I know, you’re probably thinking how is Amy Schumer an introvert (something I often hear). and her response is this: “Sitting and writing and talking to no one is how I wish I could spend the better part of every day.” Now that is something I can relate to for so many reasons.

What surprised me (and it shouldn’t have) was how much her life has colored her comedy.  After reading this, watching Trainwreck made more sense, as it was semi-autobiographical. Her honesty about how difficult it was to negotiate her father’s illness and other personal issues was authentic and really fascinating.

Also, this book is just so empowering for women of all ages.  Take, for example, this excerpt: “I know my worth. I embrace my power. I say if I’m beautiful. I say if I’m strong. You will not determine my story. I will… I am amazing for you, not because of you. I am not who I sleep with. I am not my weight. I am not my mother. I am myself. And I am all of you.” While this is not a book I would hand to many students, there are a few seniors who would embrace this book a29405093nd I think it would speak to them. But it is also enjoyable as a read just for people who want to read about the experience of a single woman in our culture.

Posted by Kate, PCTELA Blog Editor

Up Late with Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

Leave a Reply

