Book Review: Up Late with Shannon M. Parker’s THE GIRL WHO FELL.

Up Late with Shannon M. Parker’s The Girl Who Fell

After I read the first chapter of Parker’s debut contemporary young adult novel, I knew it was going to be a huge hit among my students. The book follows Zephyr (Z), a super focused high school student who is the captain of the field hockey team; she also has dreams of attending Boston College. But when a now boy named Alec moves into town, she is swept away from her dreams and into an intense and volatile relationship.

Oh. My. Gosh. This book! I started GIRL on a Wednesday night and finished it by the end of the day Thursday. I could not put it down! Shannon M. Parker has written a real, honest, raw, and beautiful debut that will have people talking for a very long time. This is an absolute must-read – especially for high school students.

Since I put this book in my classroom library last spring, it has been checked out. Every student who has read it has identified (or has known someone else who can identify) with Z and the struggles of high school and balancing friends, school, dreams, and new and old relationships. I recommend this book for high school students and teachers alike.girl

Jennie K. Brown, PCTELA President, @jenniekaywrites

Book Review: Up Late with Shannon M. Parker’s THE GIRL WHO FELL.

Leave a Reply

