Leaving a Legacy with Bookmarks: How to Celebrate Reading at the End of the Year

This year, inspired by the bookmarks I received at the High School Matters NCTE session, I decided to assign my seniors to create a bookmark with three books that impacted them. They will then leave these for my classroom library for next year’s students. This is a way for me to find more books to recommend to students and also for my seniors to leave a legacy and to continue to have an impact on our school community. Plus, let’s be honest, it was an excuse to buy a laminator to use in class! We turned my classroom into a maker space for this week.

The results so far have been amazing. While it took many students a while to think of books to choose, some jumped onto goodreads and then had to pare down huge lists. The conversations surrounding selections have been so much fun.

We’re spending about 2-3 days in class making these, and day 1 has been wonderful, so far. Some students are making collages, some are drawing, and some are using software to create the bookmarks. When they print them out and/or finish them, we send them through the laminator, which makes them shiny and official and complete. Below are some examples:

c910869b-e40b-4009-bc5d-15caaad70fc3   CjPNszUXEAAAHaK

Posted by Kate, VP Secondary, PCTELA

Leaving a Legacy with Bookmarks: How to Celebrate Reading at the End of the Year

3 thoughts on “Leaving a Legacy with Bookmarks: How to Celebrate Reading at the End of the Year

  1. […] Summer is a great time to catch up on reading magazines and preparing for the school year (or at least one of those, if not both). A few years ago, I attended a professional development session where someone was promoting a fancy stack of cards with 100 different images. We were asked to do some activities with these, and I thought of about a dozen other ways I could use them in my classroom, but I wasn’t willing to shell out the $25 for something I thought I could make myself.  When I came home, I cut images from magazines, stuck them on to cardstock,  and placed them into sheet protectors. Recently, I bought a laminator and decided to up my game with images (see here for other ways a laminator can be useful for your classroom). […]

Leave a Reply

