Short Review of The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

sunshine

From Goodreads: Something freaky’s going on with Sunshine’s new house . . . there’s the chill that wraps itself around her bones, the giggling she can hear in the dead of night, and then the strange shadows that lurk in her photographs. But the more weird stuff that happens, the less her mum believes her. Sunshine’s always had a quirky affiliation with the past, but this time, history is getting much too close for comfort . . .

Okay – so I’m a total sucker for a good scary story/mystery, and The Haunting of Sunshine Girl does not disappoint. I picked this book up at my local library, admittedly, because of its awesome cover. Because I do not judge a book by its cover alone, I read the inside blurb and knew immediately that this was going to be my next summer read. I started the book Tuesday night and finished it Wednesday afternoon. The pacing is spot on for a mystery, you feel for Sunshine, and there is a supernatural twist I did not see coming. And if you enjoy a good scare – this is worth reading (I had to distance myself from it before bed Tuesday night – didn’t want nightmares!) I didn’t realize that the story originated in the form of a youtube web series, but I look forward to checking them out. When I begin the school year (in a week – ahhh!), I will most definitely be recommending this novel to my 9th grade students.

🙂 Jennie – PCTELA President, @jenniekaywrites

Short Review of The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

One thought on “Short Review of The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

Leave a Reply

