Friday Five: Reading Over the Summer

Guest post by Gina Motter:

This summer (with two courses, planning for block schedules, and a condensing of 39 family photo albums into something to manage digitally), I find I will not be able to read 28 or so books as I did last summer. For the reasons listed, I am determined to finish these and am currently on #3:

  1. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. A classic coming-of-age title I should have read by now. My son, a resident of Queens, takes me to Brooklyn often when I visit. I been to the other boroughs many times, too, but Brooklyn is my favorite.
  2. The Boys in the Boat. Fabulous NF which celebrates the 1936 U.S. men’s Olympic eight-oar rowing team’s quest for gold. Always some summer NF, often a sport for me! Recommended by a German teacher friend who admits to reading very little on his own.imgres
  3. The Kingmaker’s Daughter by Philippa Gregory. I love all that English “stuff” by her, by Hilary Mantel, and others.
  4. God, Dr. Buzzard, and the Bolito Man: A Saltwater Geechee Talks About Life on Sapelo Island by Cornelia Bailey with Christina Bledsoe. With retirement to Georgia one possibility for us, I wanted an “unusual” read and found this. Recommended by a tech support friend who rereads it periodically as it is a favorite.
  5. Teaching in the Block. That’s what’s coming up September 1st for our school. I have only one year’s experience (elsewhere) with this and look forward to this challenge.

Today’s post is by Gina Motter, a teacher at State College Area High School.

Friday Five: Reading Over the Summer

Leave a Reply

