Friday Five: 5 Books on My Summer Reading List

Here’s a list of what’s on my to-read list this summer–what about you?

  1. Proust and the Squid: The Story and Science of the Reading Brain MaryAnne Wolf–I found this one at the thrift store for a dollar–the title alone was enough for me to buy this one.
  2. Quiet Susan Cain–as an introvert (no, really, I know it may be hard to believe) I am really looking forward to this book to verify some of my own ways of being.  After taking a Myers-Briggs personality test a few years ago, realizing I was an introvert and needed time to myself changed my entire perspective on life.  I’m not broken, just different.
  3. I Remember Nothing Nora Ephron–I love Nora Ephron’s I Feel Bad About My Neck so much that I’ve given it to 3 other women as a gift. Her essays are remarkable, so when I saw this one at the booksale, I snatched it up and put it in my summer read pile.
  4. God Help the Child Toni Morrison–This book has been making its way around our English department since one colleague read it for her bookclub.  I have heard it is a departure from her other books, but that it is fascinating.  Can’t wait to read this one, as Morrison is one of my literary heroes.
  5. Sister Bernadette’s Barking Dog Kitty Burns Florey–I am thinking of starting my AP Lit class with sentence diagramming next year–the idea of being able to SEE style with a diagram may help my students understand author style better.  I was talking to another colleague, and she lent me this fun little book, which I am positive will come in handy in the fall.

20150612_073232

Posted by Kate, VP Secondary, PCTELA

Friday Five: 5 Books on My Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

