Up Late with Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

This book was supposed to be my summer read, but I went and picked it up and couldn’t put it down until I finished. I think Amy Poehler and I are best friends now. Or at least it feels like it, since the way she writes sounds like a conversation I might have with a best friend.

I really enjoyed the layout of the book.  Each section starts with a two-page spread that looks like something you might find on social media. Like this one, below: “Nobody looks stupid when they are having fun.”  I felt like each piece of advice was something I wanted to post on the wall of my classroom.

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 10.01.11 AM

Aside from great wisdom, there’s of course hilarious stories–stories about bits, and skits and friendships.  Amy Poehler and I are close in age, so some of her childhood stories also resonated with me. She also has a way of writing things I’ve always thought but never been able to articulate, like this gem: “I think we should stop asking people in their twenties what they “want to do” and start asking them what they don’t want to do.” Or this: “You do it because the doing of it is the thing. The doing is the thing. The talking and worrying and thinking is not the thing.” So go do the thing that is reading this book.  You won’t regret it.

Posted by Kate, VP Secondary, PCTELA

 

imgres

Up Late with Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

One thought on “Up Late with Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

