Friday Five: Reasons to have a Teacher Twitter Account

1. Literary jokes with your students. Just this week, students were out shopping and posted an image of them with a hat and the hashtag: #tobuyornottobuy and I was able to reply with a #hamletfashionadvice tweet.

2. Sharing the funny things that come out of your classroom. I love tweeting out the memes, images, funny quotes, and profound insights my students have in class. It reminds me how awesome students are and how much teaching can be about discovery. (The meme below was created by a student in response to A Streetcar Named Desire).Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 9.38.18 AM

3. Twitter provides you with a timelime of your year. This week I went back through my images so I could use them for PowerPoint Roulette with my seniors, and it was great to see all the images from earlier in the year I’d forgotten about.

4. Great PD opportunities. Although we’ve only just started #pctelatalk on the 3rd Monday of the month at 8pm, there are plenty of other professional development conversations and resources on twitter.

5. Tweeting at authors who will tweet back at you and your students! I know I’ve mentioned this before, but how cool that there are so many authors who will respond to student and teacher tweets. 6 degrees of separation has become just one degree.

Posted by Kate, VP Secondary, PCTELA

Friday Five: Reasons to have a Teacher Twitter Account

Leave a Reply

