Friday Five: Creative Ways to Share Choice Books

  1. Still Life with a Book–I came up with this idea after seeing someone’s pictures online where they’d created a still life with a book capturing the era and tone of the book (somewhere in social media–it was about four years ago, so I don’t remember the origin). Now, I assign it to students —explanation/ rubric/ examples
    Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 6.53.49 PM
  2. Nutritional Content–I saw this on twitter earlier this year, when Andrew Smith tweeted Alina Borger’s student work for Winger. I offered it to my seniors and a number of them tried it out and it ended up being a great way to see what was in the book.
    Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 6.54.38 PM
  3. Netflix recently viewed--This one was not my idea, but I am stealing it. One of my seniors came up with this when she was reading Vonnegut’s Bluebeard. She is a huge movie/film fan and she decided her characters were the type to mooch off others, so she created a recently watched queue for Netflix and explained why each movie was there based on the character’s qualities.
    netflix book
  4. Vine Videos–I’ve assigned these, but have yet to see the results. While I’m not that well versed in vine yet, I do know they’re 6 second videos. So I’ve tasked students to create 4-6 videos of 6 seconds each. We discussed the different ways to approach this–4-6 scenes, 4-6 characters, or one scene in depth. I look forward to getting these back.
  5. Snapchat conversation between characters–this is one I’ve thought up but not assigned yet. I feel like the students could embody the characters and quote them while choosing appropriate images for the characters (think a duck pond for Holden Caulfield).

Feel free to share more ideas in the comments section!

Posted by Kate, VP Secondary PCTELA

Friday Five: Creative Ways to Share Choice Books

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: Creative Ways to Share Choice Books

  1. Jackie Wynkoop says:

    Great ideas! I particularly like #1. Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jackie Wynkoop, Bellefonte Area School District

Leave a Reply

