Up Late with Suzanne Selfor’s Saving Juliet

51LB-6q9sUL

As I started my unit on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, I decided to revisit Selfors’s fun, modern take of the classic romantic play. In Saving Juliet, Mimi Wallingford, the daughter of famous Wallingford actors, is cast as the role of Juliet; however, after a terrible bought of stage fright, Mimi is transported to Shakespeare’s Verona where she befriends the real Juliet Capulet! Of course her “Romeo” also follows her to the past. Can they save the “real” Juliet from her tragic ending?

I’ve been a fan of Suzanne Selfors ever since I read her novel Coffeehouse Angel (although Saving Juliet was published first). As many know, I am a HUGE Shakespeare nerd, so I was super excited to see a contemporary novel featuring him and his play! I love the way Selfors portrays some of the popular roles – Tybalt, Benvolio, Mercutio, Romeo, Juliet, etc. And readers will be surprised to see who Mimi falls for! I not only loved her characters, but the pacing and humor of the novel was right on par.

For a fun, light take on Shakespeare’s most famous play, check out this book! Or at least recommend it to students!

Happy Reading!

Jennie K. Brown, PCTELA President, @jenniekaywrites

Up Late with Suzanne Selfor’s Saving Juliet

One thought on “Up Late with Suzanne Selfor’s Saving Juliet

Leave a Reply

