Up Late with The Heart and the Fist by Eric Greitens

After reading, The Warrior’s Heart, I couldn’t help but want to learn more about this outstanding man’s life. Just a short while after putting down the book my friend commented to me that he had another book, on the same material just more descriptive and for a more mature reader. Happy with the sound of another book on a topic that already interested me, I went to my teacher that week and politely requested his next, “work of art,” (as they say) The Heart And The Fist. Reading at a snail’s pace in order to absorb every bit of detail, I’m fixated to each page. My previous mindset of wanting to join the US military is only increasing as I read the occurrences of such a poured and important member of our society.

    I have really enjoyed both of the books that I have read so far by Mr. Greitens and I hope to enjoy more of his books in the future.  One of the things that I like about his books, is that he is a powerful speaker and really cares about the people that he try’s to help.  One of my favorite lines from the whole book came when he was talking about the refugees in Rwanda and said, “If we really care about these people, we have to be willing to protect them from harm.” (Greitens 64)  This quote came from when he was asked by a member of the crowed that he was presenting to, “What can we do to help?”(Greitens 63) I truly believe that this is the point in his life where he went from being a refugee and helping after the fact,  to wanting to be in the army and stopping these things from happening before the fact.  I think that one of the reasons that I enjoyed his works so much is because I hope to see myself be somewhat like him someday and join the Navy Seals and fix what ever little part of the world that I can.

Eric Greitens starts his life believing he is trapped in the new day-in-age and was just simply born in the wrong century. Wanting to be an adventurer his whole life but not knowing how, he takes up the studies of Public Policy at the University of Duke, to learn all about the world and how to help people. After being named the Angier B. Duke Scholar, Rhodes and Truman Scholar he moved onto Oxford University where he earned a masters in development studies and a Ph.D in Politics. Still obsessed with being an adventurer and wanting to help people, he goes to Croatia and Rwanda as an undergraduate researcher where he aided war refugees. In total he has worked as a Humanitarian volunteer in 9 different countries. After realizing that the only thing that he was doing as a volunteer was helping after the fact and not actually stopping it from happening in the first place. Greitens throws away a life of fortune and a starting yearly salary for researching of over 6 figures and joins the Naval Officer Candidates School. Where he then graduates and moves on to BUD/S (Basic Underwater Demolition/Seal) the hardest physical and mental testing a human being can possibly go through just to become a NAVY SEAL (and did I mention that he only had one chance to make it through do to his age). Greitens makes it through BUD/S and begins his life as a service man where he would then serve 4 tours, 1 in Iraq, 1 in Afghanistan, 1 in the Horn of Africa and last but not least 1 in Southeast Asia. After surviving all 4 tours Greitens now is an accomplish author who writes nonprofit books and was rated one of the 100 most influential people in the world, by Time Magazine.

A few of my favorite quotes from the book
“If we really care about these people, we have to be willing to protect them from harm.” (Greitens 64)
“I might fail at BUD/S; I might find myself miserable; but I’d live with no regrets” (Greitens 64)
“Just another morning in paradise” (Greitens 150)

imgres

Today’s post is by Andrew, a student at State College High School.

Following in my older brothers footsteps I took up hockey as a lifestyle and embraced it everyday I live. I have high aspirations of attending a great collage and one day serving our country the greatest of the all USA.

Up Late with The Heart and the Fist by Eric Greitens

Leave a Reply

