Friday Five: Things to Enjoy Over Winter Break

IMG_20141218_071017

1. Read that stack of books you’ve been eyeing all month.  If you went to NCTE like me, you’ve probably been counting down the days until you can read all those books you brought home. A few on my list:  Homeland Cory Doctorow;  Love Letters to the Dead Eva Dellaria; California Edan Lepucki. Even if you didn’t go to NCTE, I bet you’re excited to sit and read a book during the day, instead of as you fall asleep at night.

2. Go to the bathroom WHENEVER YOU WANT.  I find it funny that I have to pay attention to what time it is and schedule my bathroom breaks.  For two weeks I’m going to drink all the water I want and use the bathroom at random times!

3. Appreciate not having a deadline for turning back quizzes or papers or assignments.  Our weeks are often dictated by all the things we have to do and the looming deadlines of progress alerts, IEP meetings, or online grade posting.  Enjoy these two weeks where you can put aside your bag with the papers (or your laptop with web access) and just be a regular person.

4. Sleep a little later than 5:30am.  Or at least stay in your pajamas a little longer.  I don’t know if you’re like me, where I don’t really sleep much later on break, but I do love not having to rush in the morning. Instead, I’ll sit in front of my Christmas tree with my coffee and read a chapter or two before doing anything productive.

5. Spend time with family and friends.  The fall is such a busy time for teachers, sometimes our family/ spouse /kids /friends become secondary to all our classwork/ students/ meetings/ planning/ prepping.

So Happy Holidays from PCTELA, and enjoy all your time off with family, friends, and books. Our blog will return in the new year with new reviews, new giveaways, and new columns.

Peace,

Kate & the PCTELA Board.

Friday Five: Things to Enjoy Over Winter Break

Leave a Reply

