Friday 5: Books That Have Stayed With Me

These 5 books may not all be literary classics and some may not even be known to you at all, but they are ones that I come back to over and over again. We all have books like these…the ones with stains and finger smudges on the cover, tears on every other page and binding that, well, no longer even looks like binding. Or books that we have so engrained in our memories that we have no need to open the pages ever again. Below are the five books that have stayed with me over years. These titles are in no particular order.

  1. and 2.  Goldilocks and the Three Bears AND The Three Little Pigs

When I was a little girl, my grandfather would read these books to me every night. I remember him lying on the floor next to my bed, holding my hand, reciting the books from memory. He would exaggerate the “toooooo bigs”, “toooooo smalls”, and “juuuust rights”. The “huffs”, “puffs”, and “blow the house downs”. Now I read these books to my almost-1-year-old son every single night. He snuggles up on my lap and we read together. His little fingers tap on the pages as I read the words, and he ooohhhs and aaahhhhs along with the extended vowel sounds. I have no doubt he will remember both of these classics for a very long time.

   3. Rebecca

When my husband, son and I moved in February, I used the move as an opportunity to purge and sort through old bins, drawers and files. While sorting through a box that had made a home in a basement for the past 15 years, I ran across a sequel of Rebecca that I wrote for a 10th grade school project. This jogged another memory of creating a movie at my Aunt Madeline’s house on a lake in the Scranton area depicting the most important plot points in Rebecca. Obviously, I loved the book then, and I still love it now. The cover is missing and the pagers are yellowed – I must have read the book a dozen times.

 4. Jane Eyre

Love. Love. Love. The first time I read Jane Eyre was in 7th grade. At that time I am pretty sure I didn’t understand much of what was occurring, but then my mother urged me to read it again in 10th grade – after my first reading of Rebecca. Like Rebecca, the book was dark, mysterious, and gothic – all characteristics I looked for. I’ve read the book over and over again, and I’ve seen every movie adaptation released (multiple times).

 5. 13 Reasons Why.

If you are a middle/high school teacher, or a parent of a teenager, I recommend reading this book. I did a short-review of this a few weeks ago on the blog, so if you want to read more you can check it out. Although I have only read this book two times, it is one that has most definitely stayed with me. Also – I can’t wait to hear Jay Asher speak at this year’s PCTELA conference!

What are some books that have stayed with you?

🙂 Jennie, PCTELA President, @jenniekaywrites

Friday 5: Books That Have Stayed With Me

One thought on “Friday 5: Books That Have Stayed With Me

Leave a Reply

