Friday Five: 5 Things Great about the AP National Conference

5. Resources. The vendors here are all talking about texts, giving away copies, and offering to send more examination copies.  Random House, Penguin, Norton, all the publishers are here.

4. The food, which leads to meeting new people. I am only half joking when I say I come to these conferences for the food.  Discussions over wine, or coffee, or even a bowl of oatmeal usually become ways to meet people from all over the country.  I’ve met people from California, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania, and we’ve talked about politics, unions, and books.

3. The concurrent sessions. These sessions are so impressive! I’ve walked away with so many ideas about teaching rhetorical analysis and teaching poetry, and I’ve even gleaned a few classroom management ideas from presenters and peers as well.

2. The conversations with other teachers. One of my favorite parts about this conference has been meeting people across curriculum.  Usually I just go to English teacher conferences, but this AP conference allows me to talk to and share ideas with Biology teachers, History teachers, Computer Science teachers, and administrators.  It feels like an even bigger community and while it is a little overwhelming with the range of content, it is also exciting to talk to other excited teachers from all over the country.

1. The energy and excitement to enter a new year. When I have dozens of ideas running through my head in the summer I can actually *do* something about them, rather than all the ideas I have in the school year and I just don’t have the energy to do anything with them.

Posted by Kate, VP Secondary

Friday Five: 5 Things Great about the AP National Conference

Leave a Reply

